

## TOWN OF OLD SAYBROOK **Zoning Board of Appeals**

Robert J. McIntyre, Vice Chairman Dorothy T. Alexander, Secretary Adam Boyd Kevin Danhy Jacqueline Prast

NEXT REGULAR MEETING Wednesday, January 9, 2019 at 7:00 P.M.

Town Hall, 1st Floor Conference Room

302 Main Street

Old Saybrook, CT

Subscribe to www.oldsaybrookct.org for electronic

delivery of land use agendas.

302 Main Street • Old Saybrook, Connecticut 06475-1741 Telephone (860) 395-3131 • FAX (860) 395-1216 www.oldsaybrookct.org

Alternate Members Catherine J. Purcell Charles Gadon Brenda Dyson

## MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING January 8, 2019 at 6:00 p.m.

Town Hall, 1<sup>st</sup> Floor Conference Room 302 Main Street, Old Saybrook

I. **CALL TO ORDER -** Vice Chairman McIntyre called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

## II. ROLL CALL

Brenda Dyson was introduced as a new alternate member of the Board. No members of the public were in attendance.

Attendant Members: Absent Members: Robert McIntyre Adam Boyd

Dorothy Alexander

Kevin Danby

Attendant Staff:

Catherine Purcell Christina Costa, Zoning Enforcement Officer

Jacqueline Prast Attorney Michael Cronin

Charles Gadon Brenda Dyson

III. WORKSHOP – Legal review, questions and answers for Attorney Mike Cronin.

The workshop discussion included a number of topics such as the role of the Board members as public officials, conflict of interest, communications, policies, procedures, seating of alternates, successions of terms, reopening public hearings, public documents and decisions.

The ZEO distributed model motions that she prepared and were reviewed by Attorney Cronin to assist the Board in improving their motion making skills. Reasons for hardship often presented by applications including but not limited to minor reductions in non-conformities, compliance with other codes, elevation for FEMA compliance, ADA and change in regulations.

Attorney Cronin distributed and discussed court cases that are frequently referenced.

## VI. **ADJOURNMENT**

**MOTION** was made by R. McIntyre, seconded by K. Danby to **ADJOURN** the January 8, 201 at 8:50 p.m. **VOTING IN FAVOR:** R. McIntyre, K. Danby, C. Purcell, J. Prast and D. Alexander; **ABSTAINING:** None. **OPPOSED:** None. **APPROVED:** 5-0-0.

Respectfully submitted,

Christina Costa, CZEO,CFM Acting Recording Clerk