Old Saybrook Police Commission Regular Meeting November 22, 2021 MINUTES

A regular meeting of the Old Saybrook Police Commission was held on Monday, November 22, 2021. The meeting was recorded and can be viewed in its entirety at <u>https://youtu.be/msNHfFtRiCs</u>

Present: Secretary Maselli, Commissioners Notar-Francesco, Manning, Shippee, Wilcox, Calle and Von Dassel. Captain DePerry and Master Sergeant DeMarco were present from the Department of Police Services.

I. <u>Call to Order / Pledge of Allegiance</u>

Secretary Maselli called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM and led those in attendance with the Pledge of Allegiance.

II. Remarks Concerning Commissioners Keeney, Reid and Quish

Secretary Maselli thanked former Commissioners Keeney, Reid and Quish for their service.

The Commission went around the table and introduced themselves.

Commissioner Von Dassel read the rules of public comment.

III. <u>Public Comment</u>

Keith Margotta commented.

A member of the public commented.

Paul Carmichael commented.

Captain DePerry addressed the Commission regarding Chief Spera not being present at the meeting due to an emergency surgery.

IV. <u>Discussion and Action Concerning the Meeting Minutes of the Special October 19, 2021 and</u> Special October 25, 2021 Meetings.

Commissioner Wilcox made a motion to accept the October 19, 2021 Special Meeting Minutes. Commissioner Shippee seconded the motion.

Commissioner Shippee stated that Andrew Thorpe's name and Whelen was misspelled.

Commissioner Shippee also questioned the sequence of Executive Sessions and the entrance and exits.

The motion to accept the October 19, 2021 Special Meeting Minutes with discussed changes passed with a vote of 4 in favor (Wilcox, Shippee, Maselli and Von Dassel), 0 against and 3 abstaining (Calle, Manning, Notar-Francesco).

Commissioner Wilcox made a motion to accept the October 25, 2021 Special Meeting Minutes. Commissioner Von Dassel seconded the motion. The motion to accept the October 25, 2021 Special Meeting Minutes passed with a vote of 4 in favor (Wilcox, Shippee, Maselli and Von Dassel), 0 against and 3 abstaining (Calle, Manning, Notar-Francesco).

V. <u>Election of Officers</u>

a. <u>Chair</u>

Commissioner Shippee made a motion to nominate Commissioner Wilcox to Chairman. Commissioner Calle seconded the motion. The motion to elect Commission Wilcox to Chairman passed with a vote of 7 in favor, 0 against and 0 abstaining.

b. Vice Chair

Chairman Wilcox made a motion to nominate Commissioner Shippee to Vice Chairman. Commissioner Calle seconded the motion. The motion to elect Commissioner Shippee to Vice Chairman passed with a vote of 7 in favor, 0 against and 0 abstaining.

c. <u>Secretary</u>

Commissioner Manning made a motion to nominate Commissioner Notar-Francesco to Secretary.

Commissioner Von Dassel made a motion to nominate Commissioner Maselli to Secretary.

The motion to elect Commissioner Notar-Francesco to Secretary passed with a vote of 5 in favor (Manning, Shippee, Calle, Wilcox, Notar-Francesco), 2 against (Maselli, Von Dassel) and 0 abstaining.

VI. Establish Schedule for Coming Year's Regular Meetings.

Chairman Wilcox made a motion that the Commission will keep the 4th Monday of the month schedule except for December 27, 2021, September 26, 2022 and December 26, 2022 which will be alternate dates. Commissioner Maselli seconded the motion. The motion to establish a 2022 meeting schedule passed with a vote of 7 in favor and 0 against and 0 abstaining.

VII. Establish Schedule for Special Meetings for Budget.

The Commission discussed Chief Spera presenting an overview of the budget and the budget process at the next meeting.

Commissioner Maselli made a motion to table item #7 due to Chief Spera being out. Vice Chairman Shippee seconded the motion. The motion to table item # 7 passed with a vote of 7 in favor, 0 against and 0 abstaining.

VIII. Discussion and Possible Action Concerning Point of Contact for the Commission.

Chairman Wilcox made a motion to make the Chairman the Point of Contact for the Commission and to make the address town hall. Vice Chairman Shippee seconded the motion.

Commissioner Maselli stated that they should look at the language in the by-laws.

The motion to change the Point of Contact for the Commission passed with a vote of 7 in favor and 0 against, 0 abstaining.

IX. Discussion and Possible Action Concerning Email Addresses for Commissioner on the oldsaybrook.gov website.

Vice Chairman Shippee made a motion to authorize the Chairman to work with Carl Fortuna, Larry Hayden and Tom Hennick to make FOI complaint email addresses on the oldsaybrookct.gov website for Commissioners. Commissioner Manning seconded the motion.

Commissioner Maselli stated that the Commission has to make sure they are aligned with the retention issues regarding the Freedom of Information.

Chairman Wilcox suggested tabling the action concerning email addresses for Commissioners on the oldsaybrook.gov website until he speaks with Tom Hennick and Larry Hayden more in depth. The Commission agreed to table this item.

X. Discussion and Possible Action on Agenda Structure and Procedures

Secretary Notar-Francesco stated the Commission has four changes

-Agenda will be posted by Wednesday of the week prior to a Regular Scheduled Meeting.

-Public Comment will be on the agenda at the beginning and at the end.

-Executive Session items will be placed at the end of the meetings.

-The Commission packet information will be posted online along with the agendas.

XI. <u>Comments from the Chief of Police</u>

Captain DePerry stated that he's deferring to the Chief when he's feeling better.

XII. <u>Comments from Commissioners</u>

Commissioner Manning commented

Commissioner Calle commented.

Secretary Notar-Francesco commented.

Commissioner Maselli commented.

Commissioner Von Dassel commented.

Vice Chairman Shippee commented.

Chairman Wilcox commented.

XIII. Adjournment

Secretary Notar-Francesco made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Manning seconded the motion. The motion to adjourn passed with a vote of 7 in favor and 0 opposed, 0 abstaining.

The meeting adjourned at 7:39 PM.

Respectfully submitted by:

Jennifer D'Amato Records Clerk for the Old Saybrook Police Commission