## PLANNING COMMISSION

The Connecticut General Statutes empower the Planning Commission with keeping current the Town's Plan of Conservation & Development, which is a statement of the town's goals and policies for land use. The Commission approves private subdivisions and municipal improvements of land consistent with the Town's Plans for physical improvements, outreach programs, and standards for development.

The electorate of Old Saybrook elects 5 members to serve for a term of 4 years each and 3 alternate members for a term of 2 years each.

During the 2014-2015 fiscal year, the Commission participated in an audit of the Town's plans and regulations to assist in a major recommendation of the Natural Hazard Mitigation Plan – to study the effects of sea level rise on life in Old Saybrook. The Commission is grateful for the extraordinary efforts of Katelyn Monroe, who interned in the Land Use Department, tallying the status of implementation of the action items of every Town plan.

The Commission received no applications for the subdivision of land. It approved a self-initiated update to its Subdivision Regulations to address community wells. And, the Commission responded to requests for a report about 12 proposals' consistency with Town Plans—9 Special Exception uses, 7 changes in the Zoning Regulations or Map, and 4 Municipal Improvements. The Commission also heard and made a ruling under the Scenic Roads section of the Town Code regarding clearing trees on local scenic roads by the utility company.

The Commission works closely with other boards and commissions. Presently, the Chairman represents the Commission on the Inland Wetlands & Watercourses Commission. David Shearer serves as a member of the Economic Development Commission and represented the Town with others on the Study Advisory Group for the RiverCOG Tri-town Route 1 Corridor Study. Kenneth Soudan is the Commission's representative to the Connecticut River Estuary Regional Planning Committee. The Commission thanks all for their service and dedication.

The Commission meets on the 1<sup>st</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> Wednesdays of each month with the exception of July and August, when there is only one meeting, at 7:00 p.m. in the Town Hall, first floor conference room. Meryl Tsagronis of the Land Use Department supports us as our administrative clerk. Christine Nelson, Town Planner, is available Monday through Thursday by appointment in the Land Use Department of the Town Hall to assist with applications and to answer questions concerning land use in Old Saybrook.

Janis L. Esty, Chairman