Special Board of Selectmen Minutes 11 21 2017

SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF SELECTMEN

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

4:00 P.m.

First Floor Conference Room

PRESENT: First Selectman Carl P. Fortuna Jr., Selectman Scott Giegerich, Selectman Carol Conklin and members of the public.

CALL TO ORDER- First Selectman Fortuna called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE-Recited

COMMENTS FROM THE PUBLIC

COMMENTS FROM THE SELECTMEN – The First Selectman commented that he had already appointed the Chief of Police as Emergency Management Director and Michael Gardner as Deputy. Pursuant to town charter, these are the appointments of the First Selectman. It was also noted that the Chief has been in this position for 15 years, the position is statutorily protected. Carol Conklin asked about the line of succession in this role should the Chief be unavailable and commented that she thinks the public has concerns about the Chief's dual role. The First Selectman commented that he is doing research about how many police and fire chiefs are also emergency management directors. Scott Giegerich expressed confidence in the Chief's current and past efforts. The Chief of Police thanked the Board for its questions and stated he has full confidence that he will complete the role of Emergency Management Director satisfactorily.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES Special Board of Selectmen Meeting November 15, 2017.

FORTUNA/CONKLIN

Motion to approve Special Board of Selectmen Meeting Minutes November 15, 2017

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

BUSINESS BEFORE THE BOARD

Discuss and act on Board of Selectmen 2018 Meeting Schedule.

FORTUNA/GIEGERICH

Motion to approve Board of Selectmen 2018 Meeting Schedule.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Discuss and act on 2018 Holiday Schedule.

FORTUNA/CONKLIN

Motion to approve Board of Selectmen 2018 Holiday Schedule.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Appointments

Acton Public Library. Re-appointment Alan Schwarz. This is a six year term due to expire 11/2023. Alan Schwarz reappointed

Acton Public Library. Re-appointment Nathan Wise. This is a six year term due to expire 11/2023. Nathan Wise reappointed.

Acton Public Library. Re-appointment Janet Hodge-Burke. This is a six year term due to expire 11/2023. Janet Hodge-Burke re-appointed

Aquifer Protection Agency. Vacancy appointment J. Colin Heffernan. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. J. Colin Heffernan appointed

<u>Aquifer Protection Agency</u>. Vacancy appointment Chuck Savage. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Chuck Savage appointed.

<u>Aquifer Protection Agency</u>. Vacancy appointment. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Chuck Wehrly appointed

<u>Aquifer Protection Agency</u>. Re-appointment alternate member Elizabeth Steffen. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Elizabeth Steffan re-appointed.

<u>Aquifer Protection Agency</u>. Vacancy appointment alternate member Janis Esty. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Janis Esty appointed.

<u>Conservation Commission</u>. Re-appointment Katharine Constable. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Katharine Constable re-appointed.

Conservation Commission. Re-appointment Richard Esty. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Richard Esty re-appointed.

Economic Development Commission. Re-appointment alternate member Sandra Roberts. This is a two year term due to expire 12/2019. Sandra Roberts re-appointed.

Economic Development Commission. Vacancy appointment. Judy Ganswindt. This is for the unexpired portion of a two year terms due to expire 8/2018. Judy Ganswindt appointed.

<u>Historic District Commission</u>. Re-appointment regular member Mary Kennedy. This is a five year term due to expire 12/2022. Mary Kennedy re-appointed.

<u>Historic District Commission</u>. Re-appointment alternate member Richard Peters. This is a five year term due to expire 12/2022. Richard Peters re-appointed.

<u>Inland Wetland Commission</u>. Vacancy appointment J. Colin Heffernan. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. J. Colin Heffernan appointed

Inland Wetland Commission. Vacancy appointment Chuck Savage. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Chuck Savage appointed

Inland Wetland Commission. Vacancy appointment. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Chuck Wehrly appointed

Inland Wetland Commission. Re-appointment alternate member Elizabeth Steffen. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Elizabeth Steffan re-appointed.

Inland Wetland Commission. Vacancy appointment alternate member Janis Esty. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Janis Esty appointed.

<u>Planning Commission</u>. Re-appointment alternate member Douglas McCracken. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Dennis McCracken re-appointed.

<u>Public Health Nursing Board</u>. Re-appointment Joseph Termine. This is a three year term due to expire 11/2020. Joseph Termine re-appointed.

<u>Public Health Nursing Board</u>. Re-appointment Elizabeth Owen. This is a three year term due to expire 11/2020. Elizabeth Owen re-appointed.

Public Health Nursing Board. Re-appointment alternate member. MaryAnn Iadarola. This is a three year term due to expire 11/2020. MaryAnn Iadarola re-appointed.

Shellfish Commission. Re-appointment James Mitchell. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. James Mitchell re-appointed

Shellfish Commission. Re-appointment Andrew Pandiani. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Andrew Pandiani re-appointed.

<u>Water Pollution Control Authority</u>. Re-appointment Jason Becker. This is a three year term due to expire 12/2020. Jason Becker re-appointed.

Water Pollution Control Authority. Elevation appointment. Joseph Kulowiec to regular member. This is a three year term due to expire 12/2020. Joseph Kulowiec appointed.

Zoning Board of Appeals. Re-appointment alternate member Carl S. Von Dassel Jr. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Carl S. Von Dassel Jr. re-appointed.

Zoning Board of Appeals. Re-appointment alternate member Catherine Purcell. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Catherine Purcell re-appointed.

Zoning Commission. Vacancy appointment. Ann Marie Thorsen.

Appointment is for the unexpired portion of a four year term due to expire 11/19/2019. Ann Marie Thorsen appointed.

Zoning Commission. Re-appointment alternate member Michael Cianfaglione. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Michael Cianfaglione reappointed.

Zoning Commission. Re-appointment alternate member David Papandrea. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. David Papandrea re-appointed.

Zoning Commission. Re-appointment alternate member Joanne Rynecki

Gadon. This is a two year term due to expire 11/2019. Joanne Rynecki Gadon re-appointed.

<u>Assessor</u>. Re-appointment Norman Wood. Two year term due to expire 11/2019. So moved

<u>Building Official</u>. Appointment Thomas Makowicki. Two year term due to expire 11/2019.So moved

<u>Town Counsel</u>. Re-appointment Attorney Michael Cronin. Two year term due to expire 11/2019.So moved

Town Engineer. Re-appointment Geoffrey Jacobson. Two year term due to expire 11/2017.So moved

<u>Fire Marshal</u>. Two year term due to expire 11/2019. Due to Fire Marshal interviews taking place on December 15, no appointment was made. Pete Terenzi is the interim Fire Marshal until 12/31/2017.

<u>Tree Warden</u>. Re-appointment Jim Kiely. Two year term due to expire 11/2019. So moved.

FORTUNA/CONKLIN

Motion made on above appointments. **MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY ADJOURNMENT FORTUNA/CONKLIN** Motion to adjourn at 4:40 p.m.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

.

Respectfully submitted,

Carl P. Fortuna Jr. First Selectman