

TOWN OF OLD SAYBROOK Economic Development Commission

302 Main Street • Old Saybrook, Connecticut 06475 Telephone (860) 395-3139 • FAX (860) 395-3125 Matthew Pugliese, Chair Carol Conklin, Vice Chair John DeCristoforo, Secretary/Treasurer

Joseph Arcari David Cole Judy Ganswindt Elizabeth Swenson Sandra Roberts, Alternate David Prendergast, Alternate

MEETING MINUTES

February 13, 2020 2nd Floor Conference Room, Old Saybrook Town Hall 7:00 pm

I. CALL TO ORDER

David Cole called the meeting to order at 7:11pm.

II. ROLL CALL

<u>Members present:</u> David Cole, Judy Ganswindt, Elizabeth Swenson, Sandra Roberts, and David Prendergast

<u>Members absent</u>: Matthew Pugliese, Carol Conklin, John DeCristoforo, and Joseph Arcari Staff: Susan Beckman, Director, Economic Development; Meryl Moskowitz, Recording Clerk

III. PUBLIC QUESTION & COMMENT

IV. GUEST – None

V. STAFF REPORT

Economic Development Director Susie Beckman distributed the staff report. Highlights included:

- the Economic Development Strategy group presented Section 2 of the Economic Development Strategy Plan to a joint meeting of the EDC and Planning Commission. The EDC has formally asked that the Planning Commission incorporate the strategy into the Town Plan of Conservation & Development; and
- EDC and the O.S. Chamber have invited David Lehman, Commissioner of the CT Department
 of Economic and Community Development (DECD) to speak at an event to be hosted (likely
 in June) by the EDC and Chamber for local businesses to hear what DECD's plans are for the
 next few years;

An article regarding the New London State Pier and wind development that was posted on the state's web site was briefly discussed, with regard to bringing wind energy-related businesses to Old Saybrook.

VI. REGULAR BUSINESS

A. Approval of Minutes: January 9, 2020

MOTION to approve the Regular Meeting Minutes of January 9, 2020; MADE by S. Roberts, SECONDED by E. Swenson; VOTED IN FAVOR: D. Cole, J. Ganswindt, E. Swenson, S. Roberts, D. Prendergast; OPPOSED: none; ABSTAINED: none; APPROVED: 5-0-0.

B. Approval of Minutes: February 5, 2020 Joint Meeting with Planning Commission

MOTION to approve the Joint Meeting Minutes of the Economic Development Commission and Planning Commission of February 5, 2020; **MADE** by D. Cole, **SECONDED** by D. Prendergast; **VOTED IN FAVOR**: D. Cole, J. Ganswindt, E. Swenson, S. Roberts, D. Prendergast; **OPPOSED**: none; **ABSTAINED**: none; **APPROVED**: 5-0-0.

C. Correspondence & Announcements

D. Cole and E. Swenson agreed to chair a nominating committee for EDC officers and will present nominations at the March 12 meeting.

VII. OLD BUSINESS

VIII. ADVISORY GROUP REPORTS

- A. ED PoCD Update E. Swenson volunteered to contribute photos for the Economic Development Strategy Plan
- B. Marketing Plan S. Beckman met with Rich Scierka today. They are planning the next geo fencing campaign, and may target potential new residents.
- C. Recognition of Long-Term Businesses/Spirit of Saybrook no report
- D. Arts & Culture The dedication of the art hallway was yesterday, February 12, with approximately 30 people in attendance, including representatives from Eversource and The Rotary Club, whose funding paid for the display hardware and lighting. Also attending were local officials and residents, and artists from the group displaying their art at the opening, the Brushstrokes.
- E. The Preserve no update

IX. NEW BUSINESS

A. Review Artist Applications for Community Hallway

Five applications for the art hallway display were received. S. Beckman distributed a list of proposed exhibit dates and organizations. There was also a discussion about a possible Arts Council that would possibly oversee the art hallway.

X. COMMENTS FROM THE CHAIR

XI. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION to adjourn the meeting at 7:50pm until the next regularly scheduled meeting of the Economic Development Commission which will be held on Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 7:00 P.M., Town Hall, 302 Main Street, 2nd Floor Conference Room; **MADE** by D. Cole; **SECONDED** by D. Prendergast; **VOTED IN FAVOR**: D. Cole, J. Ganswindt, E. Swenson, S. Roberts, D. Prendergast; **OPPOSED**: none; **ABSTAINED**: none; **APPROVED**: 5-0-0.

Respectfully submitted,

Meryl Moskowitz Recording Clerk