CONSERVATION COMMISSION

The Connecticut General Statutes establish the purpose of any Conservation Commission as "...the development, conservation, supervision and regulation of natural resources..."

The Board of Selectmen appoints 7 members for a term of 2 years each.

During the 2016-2017 fiscal year, the Commission held 9 meetings at which it continued its outreach and education efforts with its publication of the "Conservation Circular" newsletter—this year's Volume 4 / Spring 2017 was "What Does Conservation Mean To Us Here And Now?" The Commission partnered with the Acton Public Library to update its collection of books about the natural environment. The Commission maintains an up-to-date webpage on the Town's website and a separate Facebook profile for its own audiences. We also worked with the Old Saybrook Garden Club at its annual plant sale by providing our native plants brochure about the benefits of using native plants and which ones are appropriate for Connecticut.

The Commission conducts periodic inspection of other Town-owned conservation land and easements over private land to monitor its functions and improvements (such as fish passages). The Commission continues to look for further opportunities to conserve natural resources of the land between already-protected open spaces in Old Saybrook.

The Commission works closely with other land use groups. Presently, the Chairman represents the Commission on the Inland Wetlands & Watercourses Commission and the Aquifer Protection Agency, each of which regulate development of land that may have a negative effect on the quality of water for humans or for habitat, respectively, in identified locations. The Commission is represented on an ad hoc advisory committee to the Town and State DEEP under its Cooperative Management Agreement for The Preserve open space in the northwest corner of Old Saybrook. Emily Grochowski and Donna Leake serve on the Architectural Review Board. The Commission thanks all for their dedication to these additional organizations.

The Commission meets on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Town Hall, second floor conference room. This year, the Commission thanks Sandy Prisloe, Environmental Planner, who has served as the Town's Environmental Planner since 2010. Christine Nelson, Town Planner, is available by appointment in the Land Use Department of the Town Hall to answer questions concerning conservation of land and natural resources in Old Saybrook.

Richard Esty, Chairman