CONSERVATION COMMISSION

The Connecticut General Statutes establish the purpose of any Conservation Commission as "...the development, conservation, supervision and regulation of natural resources..."

The Board of Selectmen appoints 7 members for a term of 2 years each. The Board is thankful for the out-of-the-box thinking of Bruce Sherwin who branded our outreach committee as Sustainable Saybrook to solicit Old Saybrook citizens' input into all the priorities for the future of the Town. It will address not only Environmental issues, but also issues of Economics and Social Equity, as these are equally essential to the sustainability of our town. Visit www.SustainableSaybrook.org to keep abreast of efforts in progress in Old Saybrook. This year, Commission welcomed to its membership Walt Smith, Richard Esty and Emily Grochowski.

Open space totals more than 20% of the Town's land area, and the Commission keeps an index of these lands according to State law. The Commission refers to the Old Saybrook Plan of Conservation & Development to provide information to regulatory commissions as they process applications for development of land, and looks to this Plan for guidance in protecting the Town's natural resources.

The Commission meets on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Town Hall, second floor conference room. Kathleen Noyes of the Land Use Department supports us as our recording clerk. Sandy Prisloe, Environmental Planner, is available Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday from 9 a.m. to noon in the Land Use Department of the Town Hall to answer questions concerning conservation of land and resources in Old Saybrook.

Robert W. Fish, Chairman