

TOWN OF OLD SAYBROOK Architectural Review Board

Executive Board

Emily Grochowski, Chairman Edward Armstrong, Vice Chairman Kate Caldarella, Secretary

Donna Leake Kathryn Toolan

302 Main Street • Old Saybrook, Connecticut 06475-1741 Telephone (860) 395-3131 • FAX (860) 395-1216 www.oldsaybrookct.org

MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING Monday, February 8, 2021 at 7:00 p.m. Teleconference via Zoom

I. REGULAR BUSINESS

A. Roll Call

The Chair, Emily Grochowski, called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m.

<u>Members present</u>: Emily Grochowski, Kate Caldarella, Donna Leake and Kathryn Toolan <u>Members absent</u>: Edward Armstrong

<u>Staff present:</u> Carl Fortuna, First Selectman, Chris Costa, Zoning Enforcement Officer, Susie Beckman, Economic Development Director

<u>Guests, Commission Members, & Public</u>: Douglas Grabe, Anthony Izzo, Ronald Lyman, Alan Cantor, Gerri Lewis, Aviva Luria, Matthew Pugliese, Joe Sepot

The Chair moved to hear the agenda item "Minutes" after "New Business."

II. NEW BUSINESS

A. Design Review Awards

E. Grochowski welcomed Design Review Award recipients Douglas Grabe, Anthony Izzo, and Ronald Lyman. She explained that the Town's design standards were used to help evaluate the more than 100 projects that were considered for these awards. She added that the Board also considered how well the projects harmonized with the community and in some cases, added something new.

First Selectman Carl Fortuna thanked the Board and recognized the outstanding work of each recipient, thanking them for their investment in Old Saybrook and for the improvement that each project has brought to the Town.

The Design Excellence Awards

- Max's Place, Spencer Plain Road, for New Construction, 2010–2014 Ronald Lyman
- Little Pub, 1231 Boston Post Road, for Renovation, 2015–2019 Douglas Grabe

- North Cove Shops, 75 Main Street, for Renovation, 2010–2014 Anthony Izzo
- The Shops at Oyster River, 923 Boston Post Road, for New Construction, 2015–2019 Anthony Izzo

Zoning Enforcement Officer Chris Costa thanked the recipients, acknowledging the positive contributions of each project.

III. REGULAR BUSINESS

B. Minutes

MOTION to approve the meeting minutes of January 25, 2021 as presented; **MADE** by K. Toolan; **SECONDED**: K. Caldarella; **VOTING IN FAVOR**: E. Grochowski, K. Caldarella, D. Leake and K. Toolan; **ABSTAINING**: None. **OPPOSED**: None. **APPROVED**: 4-0-0.

IV. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION to adjourn the meeting at 7:41 p.m. to the next regularly scheduled meeting on Monday, February 22, 2021 at 7:00 p.m. via Zoom; MADE by E. Grochowski, SECONDED: K. Toolan; VOTING IN FAVOR: E. Grochowski, K. Caldarella, D. Leake and K. Toolan; ABSTAINING: None. OPPOSED: None. APPROVED: 4-0-0.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meryl Moskowitz Recording Clerk