ARCHITECTURAL REVIEW BOARD

The Town Code charges the Architectural Review Board to preserve the heritage and integrity of Old Saybrook's built environment by evaluating applications for development or redevelopment from an aesthetic perspective. The Board works with owners, builders and developers to avoid both excessive uniformity and excessive variety in each element of the design. In Old Saybrook, the Board promotes harmony between each aspect of an improvement—building, site and neighborhood.

The Board of Selectmen appoints 5 members and 2 alternates for a term of 3 years each.

During the 2016-2017 fiscal year, the Board held 21 meetings at which it reviewed 14 proposals for new or redevelopment and 35 proposals for new signs at existing developments.

The Board works closely with other land use groups. Presently, Emily Grochowski is the Commission's representative to the Mariner's Way Advisory Committee. Donna Leake happens to be a member of the Conservation Commission, as well. The Commission thanks both for their dedication to these additional organizations and the ongoing cross-communication this provides. This year, the entire Board spent quite a bit of time participating in the Board of Selectmen's drafting of a provision in the Town Code for a delay in demolition of any part of a historic building. The Board also met with a task force of the Chamber of Commerce to consider how to treat temporary signs throughout town.

The Architectural Review Board meets on the 2nd and 4th Mondays of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Town Hall, second floor conference room. Stella Beaudoin of the Land Use Department supports us as our administrative clerk. Susan Beckman, Economic Development Director, often attends the Architectural Review Board in her role of shepherding new and improving businesses. Chris Costa, Zoning Enforcement Officer, is available Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to noon in the Land Use Department of the Town Hall to assist with applications and to answer questions concerning land use in Old Saybrook.

Susan Hitchcock Missel, Chairman