ARCHITECTURAL REVIEW BOARD

The Town Code charges the Architectural Review Board to preserve the heritage and integrity of Old Saybrook's built environment by evaluating applications for development or redevelopment from an aesthetic perspective. The Board works with owners, builders, and developers to avoid both excessive uniformity and excessive variety in each element of the design. In Old Saybrook, the Board promotes harmony between each aspect of an improvement—building, site and neighborhood.

The Board of Selectmen appoints 5 members and 2 alternates for a term of 3 years each. The Architectural Review Board is thankful for the special talent and life experience that Anita Yust and Ben Akin brought to the Board's ranks this past few years.

During the 2014-2015 fiscal year, the Board recommended approval of 9 proposals for new or re-development and 34 proposals for new signs at existing developments.

The Architectural Review Board meets on the 2nd and 4th Mondays of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Town Hall, second floor conference room. Stella Beaudoin of the Land Use Department supports us as our administrative clerk. Susan Beckman, Economic Development Director, often attends the Architectural Review Board in her role of shepherding new and improving businesses. Chris Costa, Zoning Enforcement Officer, is available Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to noon in the Land Use Department of the Town Hall to assist with applications and to answer questions concerning land use in Old Saybrook.

Susan Missel, Chairman Anthony Brodeur, Vice Chairman Barbara D'Agostino, Secretary